Our History
The Town of Hamlin was created as the "Town of Union," but was renamed in 1861 as the Town of Hamlin in honor of Lincoln's first Vice President Hannibal Hamlin. Hamlin was initially a part of the town of Northampton. The town of Murray split from Northampton in 1807, and split again into Union and Clarkson on December 14, 1852. The North Star School District No. 11 was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1983.


The Main website for NYS Lakeshore Flooding Issues

New York State Lakeshore Flooding Web Site

This link is to suggested waterfront local laws to increase "resiliency". They are model laws to be adapted to fit a local area. 

NYS Dept. of Planning and Development Model Local Laws to Increase Resiliency